Nurse Compact License: States, Application, and Processing Time

Get your TravCon 24 tickets at the Early Bird pricing! Click Here to Get Your Ticket Today!

By The Gypsy Nurse

June 25, 2019



Streamlined Nursing License: Your Guide to States, Application, and Processing Times

The Nurse Compact License

Requirements for a nurse compact license are similar across states. However, each state may determine and vary its own licensure requirements.  The states that participate in the compact have agreed that the licensing requirements in the individual states are compliant with their own licensing requirements. Therefore, these states allow you to work in their state without any additional licensing.

Nurse Compact License Requirements

Who’s Eligible?

Currently, the Compact license is available for LPNs and RNs.  Additionally, there is current legislation attempting to provide a compact for Advance Practice Nurses.

According to NCSBN, The following are necessary in order to qualify for a Compact License.

  • Legally reside in an NLC state.
  • Hold an active RN or LPN/VN nursing license in good standing. (APRNs are not included in this compact.)
  • Declare an NLC state as your primary state of residency.
  • Meet the licensure requirements in your home state.

Additionally, some states have additional requirements in order to qualify. Check each state board’s website for details.

Which States Participate in the Compact?

Over the years, the nurse compact license has evolved. Now referred to as the eNLC. There are currently 41 states that have passed legislation as of January 31, 2024.
nlc jan

NLC States

  1. Alabama
  2. Arizona
  3. Arkansas
  4. Colorado
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Guam (Allows nurses who hold active, unencumbered, multi-state licenses issued by Nurse Licensure Compact member states to practice in Guam under their multi-state licenses.) 
  9. Idaho
  10. Indiana
  11. Iowa
  12. Kansas
  13. Kentucky
  14. Louisiana (RN & LPN)
  15. Maine
  16. Maryland
  17. Mississippi
  18. Missouri
  19. Montana
  20. Nebraska
  21. New Hampshire
  22. New Jersey
  23. New Mexico
  24. North Carolina
  25. North Dakota
  26. Ohio
  27. Oklahoma
  28. Pennsylvania- (Partial Implementation)
  29. Rhode Island
  30. South Carolina
  31. South Dakota
  32. Tennessee
  33. Texas
  34. Utah
  35. Vermont
  36. Virginia
  37. Washington
  38. West Virginia (RN & LPN)
  39. Wisconsin
  40. Wyoming

Pending States

  • Guam: Pending tentative implementation in 2023. Nurses holding a multistate license in other NLC states may now practice in Guam. Guam residents cannot obtain a multistate license until implementation is complete.
  • Virgin Islands: NLC enacted Dec. 6, 2021. Pending tentative implementation in 2023. Criminal background checks must also be implemented. VI residents cannot obtain a multistate license until implementation is completed. Nurses in other NLC states with a multistate license may not practice in the Virgin Islands until implementation is complete.

Additional Reading

All information on this page was obtained via Please check back often for updates.

Finished the travel nursing guide and are ready to look for an assignment?

Check out our travel nurse jobs!

Join The Gypsy Nurse Nation

Discover new travel nurse jobs, subscribe to customized job alerts and unlock unlimited resources for FREE.

Since just recently joining The Gypsy Nurse, I have had so many questions answered about the world of travel nursing. This has been an excellent resource!
—Meagan L. | Cath Lab